República del Ecuador
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The Spaniards under Francisco Pizarro founded a colony after their victory at Cajamarca (16 Nov. 1532). Their rule was first challenged by the rising of 10 Aug. 1809. Marshal Sucre defeated the Spaniards at Pichincha in 1822, and in 1822 Bolívar persuaded the new republic to join the federation of Gran Colombia. The Presidency of Quito became the Republic of Ecuador by amicable secession 13 May 1830.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Anuario de Legislation Ecuadoriana. Quito. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  2. Boletín del Banco Central. QuitoGoogle Scholar
  3. Boletín General de Estadistica. Tri-monthlyGoogle Scholar
  4. Boletín Mensual del Ministerio de Obras Públiais. MonthlyGoogle Scholar
  5. Informes Ministeriales. Quito. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  6. Bibliografia Nacional. 1756–1941. Quito, 1942Google Scholar
  7. Invest in Ecuador. Banco Central del Ecuador, Quito, 1980Google Scholar
  8. Buitrón, A. and Collier, Jr, J., The Awakening Valley: Study of the Otavalo Indians. New York, 1950Google Scholar
  9. Corkill, D., Ecuador. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1989Google Scholar
  10. Cueva. A., The Process of Political Domination in Ecuador. London, 1982Google Scholar
  11. Hickman, J., The Enchanted Islands: The Galapagos Discovered. Oswestry, 1985Google Scholar
  12. Martz, J. D., Ecuador: Conflicting Political Culture and the Quest for Progress. Boston, 1972.Google Scholar
  13. Martz, J. D., Politics and Petroleum in Ecuador. New Brunswick, 1987Google Scholar
  14. Middleton, A., Class, Power and the Distribution of Credit in Ecuador. Glasgow, 1981Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations