Republic of Suriname
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. At the peace of Breda (1667) between Great Britain and the United Netherlands, Suriname was assigned to the Netherlands in exchange for the colony of New Netherland in North America, and this was confirmed by the treaty of Westminster of Feb. 1674. Since then Suriname has been twice in British possession, 1799–1802 (when it was restored to the Batavian Republic at the peace of Amiens) and 1804–16, when it was returned to the Kingdom of the Netherlands according to the convention of London of 13 Aug. 1814, confirmed at the peace of Paris of 20 Nov. 1815. On 25 Nov. 1975, Suriname gained full independence and was admitted to the UN on 4 Dec. 1975. On 25 Feb. 1980 the Government was ousted in a coup, and a National Military Council (NMC) established. A further coup on 13 Aug. replaced several members of the NMC, and the State President.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Statistical Information: The General Bureau of Statistics in Paramaribo was established on 1 Jan. 1947. Its publications comprise trade statistics, Suriname in Figures (including, from 1953, the former Handelsstatistiek) and Statistische Berichten.Google Scholar
  2. Economische Voorlichting Suriname. Ministry of Economic Affairs, ParamariboGoogle Scholar
  3. Annual Report of the Central Bank of Suriname Google Scholar
  4. Hoefte, R. A. L., Suriname. [Bibliography]. Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1990Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations