• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The territory, including the counties of Demerara, Essequibo and Berbice, named from the 3 rivers, was first partially settled by the Dutch West Indian Company about 1620. The Dutch retained their hold until 1796, when it was captured by the English. It was finally ceded to Great Britain in 1814 and named British Guiana. On 26 May 1966 British Guiana became an independent member of the Commonwealth under the name of Guyana and the world’s first Cooperative Republic on 23 Feb. 1970.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Baber, C., and Jeffrey, H. B., Guyana: Politics, Economics and Society. London, 1986Google Scholar
  2. Braveboy-Wagner, J. A., The Venezuela-Guyana Border Dispute: Britain’s Colonial Legacy in Latin America. London, 1984Google Scholar
  3. Daly, P. H., From Revolution toRepublic. Georgetown, 1970Google Scholar
  4. Daly, Vere T., A Short History of the Guyanese People. Rev. ed. London, 1975Google Scholar
  5. Hope, K. R., Development Policy in Guyana: Planning, Finance and Administration. London, 1979Google Scholar
  6. Latin American Bureau, Guyana: Fraudulent Revolution. London, 1984CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. Spinner, T. J., A Political and Social History of Guyana, 1945–83. Epping, 1985Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1988

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations