Republic of South Africa

Republiek van Suid-Afrika
  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


History. The Union of South Africa was formed in 1910 and comprised the former self-governing British colonies of the Cape of Good Hope, Natal, the Transvaal and the Orange Free State.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. The Territory of South West Africa. (In Official Year Book of the Republic of South Africa)Google Scholar
  2. Department of Mines: Quarterly Information Circulars: Industrial Minerals Google Scholar
  3. Cockram, G.-M., South West African Mandate. Cape Town, 1976Google Scholar
  4. Green, R. H., Kiljunen, K. and Kiljunen, M.-L. (eds.) Namibia: The Last Colony. London, 1982Google Scholar
  5. Serfontein. J. H. P., Namibia? London, 1977Google Scholar
  6. Thomas, W. H., Economic Development in Namibia. Munich, 1978Google Scholar
  7. Tötemeyer, G. Namibia Old and New. New York, 1979Google Scholar
  8. Vigne, R., A Dwelling Place of Our Own: The Story of the Namibian Nation. London, 1973Google Scholar
  9. The Independence of Bophuthatswana. Dept. of Information, South African Embassy, LondonGoogle Scholar
  10. Mayer, P., Townsmen or Tribesmen. OUP, 1961Google Scholar
  11. Pauw, B. A., Christianity and the Xhosa Tradition. OUP, 1975Google Scholar
  12. Van der Kooy, R. (ed.) The Republic of Ciskei: A Nation in Transition. Pretoria, 1981Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1983

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations