United Republic of Tanzania

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


On 26 April 1964 Tanganyika, Zanzibar and Pemba combined to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar (named Tanzania on 29 Oct.).


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Atlas of Tanganyika. 3rd ed. Dar es Salaam, 1956Google Scholar
  2. Tanganyika Notes and Records. Tanganyika Society, Dar es Salaam. (Twice yearly, from 1936)Google Scholar
  3. The Economic Development of Tanganyika. Report … by the International Bank. Johns HopkinsGoogle Scholar
  4. Univ. Press and OUP, 1961 Ingle, C. R., From Village to State in Tanzania. London, 1973.Google Scholar
  5. Nellis, J. R., A Theory of Ideology: The Tanzanian Example. New York, OUP. 1972Google Scholar
  6. Samoff, J., Tanzania: Local Politics and the Structure of Power. Univ. of Wisconsin Press, 1975Google Scholar
  7. Taylor, J. C., The Political Development of Tanganyika. Stanford Univ. Press, 1963Google Scholar
  8. Lofchie, M. F., Zanzibar: Background to Revolution. Princeton Univ. Press, 1965Google Scholar
  9. Ommanney, F. D., Isle of Cloves. London, 1955Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1977

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations