British Solomon Islands Protectorate

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Solomon Islands were discovered in 1568 by Alvaro de Mendana, on a voyage of discovery from Peru; 200 years passed before European contact was again made with the Solomons. The British Solomon Islands Protectorate lies within the area 5° to 12° 30’ S. lat. and 155° 30’ to 169° 45’ E. long. The group includes the main islands of Guadalcanal, Malaita, San Cristobal, New Georgia, Santa Isabel and Choiseul; the smaller Florida and Russell groups; the Short-land, Mono (or Treasury), Vella Lavella, Kolombangara, Ranongga, Gizo and Rendova Islands; to the east, Santa Cruz, Tikopia, the Reef and Duff groups; Rennell and Bellona in the south; Ontong Java or Lord Howe to the north; and innumerable smaller islands.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1974

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations