Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


COMESA is an African economic grouping of 20 member states who are committed, over the long term, to the creation of a Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa. It was established in 1994 as a building block for the African Economic Community and replaced the Preferential Trade Area for Eastern and Southern Africa, which had been in existence since 1981.


Member State International Business International Relation Democratic Republic Economic Geography 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2003

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations