Qazaqstan Respūblīkasy
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Turkestan (part of the territory now known as Kazakhstan) was conquered by the Russians in the 1860s. In 1866 Tashkent was occupied, followed in 1868 by Samarkand. Subsequently further territory was conquered and united with Russian Turkestan. In the 1870s Bokhara was subjugated, with the emir, by an agreement of 1873, recognizing Russian suzerainty. In the same year Khiva became a vassal state to Russia. Until 1917 Russian Central Asia was divided politically into the Khanate of Khiva, the Emirate of Bokhara and the Governor-Generalship of Turkestan. In the summer of 1919 the authority of the Soviet Government extended to these regions. The Khan of Khiva was deposed in Feb. 1920, and a People’s Soviet Republic was set up, the medieval name of Khorezm being revived. In Aug. 1920 the Emir of Bokhara suffered the same fate and a similar regime was set up in Bokhara. The former Governor-Generalship of Turkestan was constituted an Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic within the RSFSR on 11 April 1921.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Olcott, M. B., The Kazakhs. Stanford, 1987Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2002

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations