• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


In 1532 the Spaniards founded a colony in Ecuador, then called Quito. In 1821 a revolt led to the defeat of the Spaniards at Pichincha and thus independence from Spain. On 13 March 1830, Quito became the Republic of Ecuador. Political instability was endemic. From the mid-1930s, President José Maria Velasco Ibarra gave more continuity to the presidential regimes, although he was deposed by military coups from four of his five presidencies.

República del Ecuador


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Futher Reading

  1. Hidrobo, J. A., Power and Industrialization in Ecuador. Boulder (CO), 1993Google Scholar
  2. National statistical office: Instituto Nacional de Estadistica y Censos (INEC), Juan Larrea 534 y Riofrío, Quito.Google Scholar
  3. Website (Spanish only):

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2002

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations