The International Organization for Francophonie

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The International Organization for Francophonie represents 55 states (including 4 with observer status) using French as the official language. Objectives include the exchange of information and the holding of summits and ministerial conferences to promote economic and social development. The Secretary-General is based in Paris. Members. Albania, Belgium, Benin, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Republic of Cameroon, Canada (New Brunswick, Quebec), Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Czech Republic, Djibouti, Dominica, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, France, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Laos, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Mauritania, Moldova, Monaco, Morocco, Niger, Romania, Rwanda, St Lucia, Senegal, Seychelles, Slovenia, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations