Organization of African Unity (OAU)

  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


History. On 25 May 1963, the heads of state or government of 32 African countries, at a conference in Addis Ababa, signed a charter establishing an Organization of African Unity. Membership comprises 53 of the 54 African countries. The only state that is not a member is Morocco, which withdrew in 1985 following admittance of the disputed state of Western Sahara as a member in 1982. In Nov. 1995 the following countries were suspended from voice and vote for failure to pay their dues: Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Niger, São Tomé e Príncipe, Seychelles and Sierra Leone.

Further Reading

  1. El-Ayouty, Y. (ed.) The Organization of African Unity after Thirty Years. New York, 1994Google Scholar
  2. Harris, G., The Organization of African Unity [Bibliography]. Oxford and New Brunswick (NJ), 1994Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations