• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Uruguay was the last colony settled by Spain in the Americas. Part of the Spanish viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata until revolutionaries expelled the Spanish in 1811 and subsequently a province of Brazil, Uruguay declared independence on 25 Aug. 1825. Conflict between two political parties, the blancos (conservatives) and the colorados (liberals), led, in 1865–70, to the War of the Triple Alliance. In 1903, peace and prosperity were restored under President José Battle y Ordónezo. Since 1904 Uruguay has been unique in her constitutional innovations, all designed to protect her from dictatorship. A favoured device was the collegiate system of government, in which the two largest political parties were represented.

República Oriental del Uruguay


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Finch, H. et al, Uruguay. [Bibliography] ABC-Clio, Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1989Google Scholar
  2. Gonzalez, L. E., Political Structures and Democracy in Uruguay. Univ. of Notre Dame Press, 1992Google Scholar
  3. Sosnowski, S. (ed.) Repression, Exile and Democracy: Uruguayan Culture. Duke Univ. Press, 1993Google Scholar
  4. Weinstein, M., Uruguay: Democracy at the Crossroads. Boulder (CO), 1988Google Scholar
  5. National library: Biblioteca Nacional del Uruguay, Guayabo 1793, Montevideo.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations