Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania (United Republic of Tanzania)
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


At the end of the 17th century the inhabitants of Zanzibar drove out the Portuguese with the assistance of the Arabs of Oman. In 1887 the Sultan of Zanzibar handed over the administration of his possessions to the north of Vanga on the African continent to the British East Africa Association. These territories eventually passed to the British government and are now part of Kenya. In 1888 a similar concession was granted to the German East Africa Association of the Sultan’s mainland territories between the River Umba and Cape Delgado. German East Africa was conquered by the Allies in the First World War and subsequently divided between the Belgians, the Portuguese and the British. The country was administered as a League of Nations mandate until 1946, and then as a UN trusteeship territory until 9 Dec. 1961.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Ayany, S. G., A History of Zanzibar. Nairobi, 1970Google Scholar
  2. Coulson, A., Tanzania: A Political Economy. OUP, 1982Google Scholar
  3. Darch, C., Tanzania. [Bibliography] 2nd ed. ABC-Clip, Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1996Google Scholar
  4. Hood, M., (ed.) Tanzania and Nyerere. London, 1988Google Scholar
  5. Nyerere, J., Freedom and Development. New York, 1976Google Scholar
  6. Resnick, I. N., The hong Transition: Building Socialism in Tanzania. New York and London, 1981Google Scholar
  7. Yeager, R., Tanzania: An African Experiment. Aldershot, 1982Google Scholar
  8. National statistical office: Bureau of Statistics, Dar es Salaam.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations