Dziko la Malaŵi (Republic of Malaŵi)
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The explorer David Livingstone reached Lake Nyasa, now Lake Malaŵi, in 1859 and it was the land along the lake’s western shore that became, in 1891, the British Protectorate of Nyasaland. In 1884 the British South Africa Company applied for a charter to trade. Pressure on land, the colour bar and other grievances generated Malaŵian resistance. In 1953 Nyasaland was joined with Southern Rhodesia (Zimbabwe) and Northern Rhodesia (Zambia) to form the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland, under British control. This union was dissolved in 1963 when Nyasaland was for a year self-governing, until on 6 July 1964 it became independent, adopting the name of Malaŵi. In 1966 Malaŵi was declared a republic and Dr Hastings Banda became the first president, establishing a one party dictatorship which lasted for 30 years. In 1994 Malaŵi returned to multi-party democracy.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. National Statistical Office. Monthly Statistical Bulletin Google Scholar
  2. Ministry of Economic Planning and Development. Economic Report. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  3. Decalo, S., Malaŵi [Bibliography] 2nd ed. ABC-Clio, Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1995Google Scholar
  4. National statistical office: National Statistical Office, POB 333, Zomba.Google Scholar
  5. Website: http://www.maform.malaŵi.netGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations