• Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


In 1506 Sofala was occupied by the Portuguese. Mozambique was at first ruled as part of Portuguese India but a separate administration was created in 1752. In 1951 Mozambique became an Overseas Province of Portugal. Following a decade of guerrilla activity, Portugal and the nationalists jointly established a transitional government on 20 Sept. 1974. Independence was achieved on 25 June 1975. A one-party state dominated by the Mozambique Liberation Front (FRELIMO) was set up but armed insurgency led by the Mozambique National Resistance (RENAMO) continued until on 4 Oct. 1992 President Chissano and Afonso Dhlakama, leader of RENAMO, signed a treaty in Rome ending the civil war. The treaty provided for all weapons to be handed over to the UN and all armed groups to be disbanded within 6 months. In 1994 the country held its first multiparty elections won by the Frelimo Party and a new Parliament was inaugurated with 250 seats. The UN presence ended in Jan. 1995.

República de Moçambique


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Andersson, H., Mozambique: a War against the People. London, 1993Google Scholar
  2. Darch, C., Mozambique. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1987Google Scholar
  3. Finnegan, W., A Complicated War: the Harrowing of Mozambique. California Univ. Press, 1992Google Scholar
  4. Newitt, M., A History of Mozambique. Farnborough, 1996Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1999

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations