Dowlat al Kuwait (State of Kuwait)
  • Barry Turner
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The ruling dynasty was founded by Shaikh Sabah al-Awwal, who ruled from 1756 to 1772. In 1899 the then ruler, Shaikh Mubarak, concluded a treaty with Great Britain wherein, in return for the assurance of British protection, he undertook to support British interests. In 1914 the British Government recognized Kuwait as an independent government under British protection. On 19 June 1961 an agreement reaffirmed the independence and sovereignty of Kuwait and recognized the Government of Kuwait’s responsibility for the conduct of internal and external affairs; the agreement of 1899 was terminated.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Al-Yahya, M.A., Kuwait: Fall and Rebirth. London, 1993Google Scholar
  2. Clements, F. A., Kuwait. [Bibliography] 2nd ed. Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1996Google Scholar
  3. Crystal, J., Kuwait: the Transformation of an Oil State. Boulder (Colo.), 1992Google Scholar
  4. Finnie, D. H., Shifting Lines in the Sand: Kuwait’s Elusive Frontier with Iraq. London, 1992Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1999

Authors and Affiliations

  • Barry Turner

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations