Equatorial Guinea

  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Key Historical Events. Equatorial Guinea was a Spanish colony (Territorios Espanoles del Golfo de Guinea) until 1 April 1960. The territory was then divided into two Spanish provinces with a status comparable to the metropolitan provinces until 20 Dec. 1963, when they were re-joined as an autonomous Equatorial Region. It became an independent Republic on 12 Oct. 1968 as a federation of the two provinces, and a unitary state was established on 4 Aug. 1973. The first President, Francisco Macfas Nguema, was declared President-for-Life on 14 July 1972, but was overthrown by a military coup on 3 Aug. 1979. A Supreme Military Council then created was the sole political body until constitutional rule was resumed on 12 Oct. 1982.

República de Guinea Ecuatorial


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Fegley, R., Equatorial Guinea, an African Tragedy. New York, 1989.Google Scholar
  2. Fegley, R—Equatorial Guinea. [Bibliography]. Oxford and Sanla Barbara (CA), 1991Google Scholar
  3. Liniger-Goumaz, M., Guinea Ecuatoriul: Bibliogruffa General. Geneva, 1974–91.Google Scholar
  4. Liniger-Goumaz, M—Historical Dictionary of Equatorial Guinea. 2nd ed. Metuchen (NJ), 1988.Google Scholar
  5. Liniger-Goumaz, M—Small Is Not Always- Beautiful: the Story of Equatorial Guinea. London, 1988Google Scholar
  6. Molino, A. M. del, La Ciudadde Clarence. Madrid, 1994Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations