• Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Key Historical Events. The Vice-Royalty of New Granada gained independence from Spain in 1819, and was officially constituted on 17 Dec. 1819, together with the present territories of Panama, Venezuela and Ecuador, as ‘Greater Colombia’. This split into Venezuela, Ecuador and the Republic of New Granada in 1830. The constitution of 1858 changed New Granada into a confederation of 8 states, the Confederación Granadina. Under the constitution of 1863 the country was renamed ‘Estados Unidos de Colombia’, which were 9 in number. After the revolution of 1885 the unitary Republic of Colombia was formed and the states were converted into departments.

República de Colombia


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Departamento Administrative Nacional de Estadística. Boletín de Estadística. Monthly.Google Scholar
  2. Davis, R. H., Historical Dictionary of Colombia. 2nd ed. Metuchen (NJ), 1994Google Scholar
  3. Thorp, R., Economic Management and Economic Development in Peru and Colombia. London, 1991CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. National statistical office: Departamento Administrative Nacional de Estadi’stica (DANE), Avenida Eldorado, Bogotá.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations