Republic of Mauritius
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Key Historical Events. The Dutch were the first settlers (1598). In 1710 they abandoned the island, which was occupied by the French under the name of Ile de France (1715). The British occupied the island in 1810, and it was formally ceded to the UK in 1814. Mauritius became independent and a member of the Commonwealth in 1968, and a republic on 12 March 1992.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Central Statistical Information Office. Bi-annual Digest of Statistics.Google Scholar
  2. Bennett, P. R., Mauritius. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara (CA), 1992Google Scholar
  3. Bowman, L. W., Mauritius: Democracy and Development in the Indian Ocean. Aldershot, 1991Google Scholar
  4. Mathur, H., Parliament in Mauritius. Rose Hill, 1991Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1996

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations