Dominican Republic

República Dominicana
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. On 5 Dec. 1492 Columbus discovered the island of Hispaniola (at times also known as Santo Domingo and Quisqueya). The city of Santo Domingo, founded by his brother, Bartholomew, in 1496, is the oldest city in the Americas. The western third of the island—now the Republic of Haiti—was later occupied and colonized by the French. The Spanish colony declared its independence in 1821. It was occupied by Haiti from 1822 to 1844, when the Dominican Republic was founded and a constitution adopted. The country was occupied by the USA from 1916 until 1924. In 1930 Rafael Trujillo established a dictatorship which lasted until his assassination in May 1961. The deposition of the president in 1965 led to civil war and a second US intervention. Joaquin Balaguer was elected president in 1966 and a new constitution was promulgated.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Atkins, G. P., Anns and Politics in the Dominican Republic. London, 1981Google Scholar
  2. Bell, I., The Dominican Republic. London, 1980Google Scholar
  3. Black, J. K., The Dominican Republic: Politics and Development in an Unsovereign State. London, 1986Google Scholar
  4. Schoenhals, K., Dominican Republic: [Bibliography]. London and Santa Barbara, 1990Google Scholar
  5. Wiarda, H. J. and Kryzanek, M.J., The Dominican Republic: A Caribbean Crucible. Boulder, 1982Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1995

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations