Costa Rica

República de Costa Rica
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Part of the Spanish Viceroyalty of New Spain from 1540, Costa Rica formed part of the United Provinces of Central America on its formation in 1823. Costa Rica left the Confederation and achieved full independence in 1838. The first Constitution was promulgated on 7 Dec. 1871.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Ameringer, C. D., Democracy in Costa Rica. New York, 1982Google Scholar
  2. Biesanz, R., (et al), The Costa Ricans. Hemel Hempstead, 1982Google Scholar
  3. Bird, L., Costa Rica: Unarmed Democracy. London, 1984Google Scholar
  4. Creedman, T. S. Historical Dictionary of Costa Rica. 2nd ed. Metuchen (N.J.), 1991Google Scholar
  5. Stansifer, C., Costa Rica. 2nd ed. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1991Google Scholar
  6. National statistical office: Dirección General de Estadística y Censos, San José.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1995

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations