République Fédérale Islamique des Comores
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The 3 islands forming the present state became French protectorates at the end of the 19th century, and were proclaimed colonies in 1912. With neighbouring Mayotte they were administratively attached to Madagascar from 1914 until 1947, when the 4 islands became a French Overseas Territory, achieving internal self-government in Dec. 1961.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Newitt, N., The Comoro Islands. London, 1985Google Scholar
  2. Ottenheimer, M. and Ottenheimer, H. J., Historical Dictionary of the Comoro Islands. Metuchen (NJ), 1994Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1995

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations