Cayman Islands

  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The islands were discovered by Columbus on 10 May 1503 and (with Jamaica) were recognized as British possessions by the Treaty of Madrid in 1670. Grand Cayman was settled in 1734 and the other islands in 1833. They became a separate Crown Colony on 4 July 1959.

Further Reading

  1. Cayman Islands Government, Annual Report Google Scholar
  2. Compendium of Statistics of the Cayman Islands, 1992. Cayman Islands Government Statistics Office, 1993Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1995

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations