Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Brian Hunter
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The Federal Republic comprises a number of areas formerly under separate administrations. Lagos, ceded in Aug. 1861 by King Dosunmu, was placed under the Governor of Sierra Leone in 1866. In 1874 it was detached, together with Gold Coast Colony, and formed part of the latter until Jan. 1886, when a separate ‘colony and protectorate of Lagos’ was constituted. Meanwhile the United African Company had established British interests in the Niger valley, and in July 1886 the company obtained a charter under the name of the Royal Niger Company. This company surrendered its charter to the Crown on 31 Dec. 1899, and on 1 Jan. 1900 the greater part of its territories was formed into the protectorate of Northern Nigeria. Along the coast the Oil Rivers protectorate had been declared in June 1885. This was enlarged and renamed the Niger Coast protectorate in 1893; and on 1 Jan. 1900, on its absorbing the remainder of the territories of the Royal Niger Company, it became the protectorate of Southern Nigeria. In Feb. 1906 Lagos and Southern Nigeria were united into the ‘colony and protectorate of Southern Nigeria’, and on 1 Jan. 1914 the latter was amalgamated with the protectorate of Northern Nigeria to form the ‘colony and protectorate of Nigeria’, under a Governor. On 1 Oct. 1954 Nigeria became a federation under a Governor-General. In 1967, 12 states were created and in 1976 this was increased to 19 and to 21 in 1987. On 1 Oct. 1960 Nigeria became sovereign and independent and a member of the Commonwealth and on 1 Oct. 1963 Nigeria became a republic.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Nigeria Digest of Statistics. Lagos, 1951 ff. (quarterly)Google Scholar
  2. Annual Abstract of Statistics. Federal Office of Statistics. Lagos, 1960 ff.Google Scholar
  3. Nigeria Trade Journal. Federal Ministry of Commerce and Industries (quarterly)Google Scholar
  4. Achebe, C, The Trouble with Nigeria. London, 1984Google Scholar
  5. Adamolekun, L., Politics and Administration in Nigeria. Ibadan, 1986Google Scholar
  6. Barbour, K. M. (ed.) Nigeria in Maps. London, 1982Google Scholar
  7. Burns, A., History of Nigeria. 8th ed. London, 1978Google Scholar
  8. Crowder, M. and Abdullahi, G., Nigeria, an Introduction to its History. London, 1979Google Scholar
  9. Ikoku, S. G., Nigeria’ s Fourth Coup: Options for Modern Statehood. Enugu, 1984Google Scholar
  10. Kirk-Greene, A. and Rimmer, D., Nigeria since 1970. London, 1981Google Scholar
  11. Myers, R. A., Nigeria. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1989Google Scholar
  12. Nwabueze, B. O., The Presidential Constitution of Nigeria. Lagos and London, 1982Google Scholar
  13. Oyediran, O., Nigerian Government and Politics under Military Rule, 1966–1979. New York, 1980Google Scholar
  14. Oyovbaine, S.E., Federalism in Nigeria: A Study in the Development of the Nigerian State. London,1985Google Scholar
  15. Shaw, T. M. and Aluko, O., Nigerian Foreign Policy: Alternative Perceptions and Projections. London,1984Google Scholar
  16. Simmons, M. and Obe, O. A., Nigerian Handbook 1982–83. London, 1982Google Scholar
  17. Tijjani, A. and Williams, D. (eds.) Shehu Shagari: My Vision of Nigeria. London, 1981Google Scholar
  18. Van Apeldoorn, G. J., Perspectives on Drought and Famine in Nigeria. London, 1981Google Scholar
  19. Williams, D., President and Power in Nigeria. London, 1982Google Scholar
  20. Zartman, I. W., The Political Economy of Nigeria. New York, 1983Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • Brian Hunter

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations