Dowlat al Kuwait
  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The ruling dynasty was founded by Shaikh Sabah al-Owel, who ruled from 1756 to 1772. In 1899 the then ruler Shaikh Mubarak concluded a treaty with Great Britain wherein, in return for the assurance of British protection, he undertook not to alienate any of his territory without the agreement of Her Majesty’s Government. In 1914 the British Government recognized Kuwait as an independent government under British protection. On 19 June 1961 an agreement reaffirmed the independence and sovereignty of Kuwait and recognized the Government of Kuwait’s responsibility for the conduct of internal and external affairs; the agreement of 1899 was terminated and Her Majesty’s Government expressed their readiness to assist the Government of Kuwait should they request such assistance.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Further Reading

  1. Arabian Year Book. Kuwait, 1978Google Scholar
  2. Annual Statistical Abstract of Kuwait. KuwaitGoogle Scholar
  3. Kuwait Facts and Figures 1986. Ministry of Information, 1987Google Scholar
  4. Clements, F. A., Kuwait. [Bibliography] Oxford and Santa Barbara, 1985Google Scholar
  5. Girgis, M., (ed.) Industrial Progress in Smalt Oil-Exporting Countries: The Prospect for Kuwait. Harlow, 1984Google Scholar
  6. Sabah, Y. S. F., The Oil Economy of Kuwait. London. 1980Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1989

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations