Islamic Republic of Pakistan
  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Pakistan was constituted as a Dominion on 14 Aug. 1947, under the provisions of the Indian Independence Act, 1947, which received the royal assent on 18 July 1947. The Dominion consisted of the following former territories of British India: Baluchistan, East Bengal (including almost the whole of Sylhet, a former district of Assam), North-West Frontier, West Punjab and Sind; and those States which had acceded to Pakistan.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Pakistan Year-Book, AnnualGoogle Scholar
  2. Ahmed, A. S., Religion and Politics in Muslim Society: Order and Conflict in Pakistan. CUP, 1973Google Scholar
  3. Ali, T., Can Pakistan Survive? The Death of the State. Harmondsworth, 1983Google Scholar
  4. Burke, S. M., Pakistan’s Foreign Policy. OUP, 1973Google Scholar
  5. Burki, S. J., Pakistan Under Bhutto. London, 1980CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. Griffin, K., and Khan, A. R. (ed.), Growth and Inequality in Pakistan. London and New York 1972Google Scholar
  7. Hasan, M.,(ed.) Pakistan in a Changing World. Karachi, 1978Google Scholar
  8. Jennings, Sir Ivor, Constitutional Problems in Pakistan. CUP, 1957Google Scholar
  9. Siddiqui, K., Conflict. Crisis and War in Pakistan. London, 1972CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1985

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations