British Indian Ocean Territory

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


History. This territory was established on 8 Nov. 1965, consisting then of the Chagos Archipelago (formerly administered by Mauritius) and the islands of Aldabra, Desroches and Farquhar (all formerly administered by the Seychelles). The latter islands being returned to the Seychelles when that country achieved independence on 29 June 1976, the territory now comprises the Chagos Archipelago, lying 1,180 miles (1,899 km) north-west of Mauritius.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1983

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations