• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. Northern Angola was discovered by the Portuguese in 1482, and the first settlers arrived there in 1491. Luanda was founded in 1575. Apart from a brief period of Dutch occupation from 1641 to 1648, Angola remained a Portuguese colony until 11 June 1951, when it became an Overseas Province of Portugal. On 11 Nov. 1975 Angola became fully independent as the People’s Republic of Angola.

República Popular de Angola


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Anuário Estatistico de Angola. Luanda, from 1897Google Scholar
  2. Araújo, A. Correia de, Aspectos do desenvolvimento económico e social de Angola. Lisbon, 1964Google Scholar
  3. Bender, G. J., Angola under the Portuguese. London, 1979Google Scholar
  4. Davidson, B., In the Eye of the Storm. London, 1972Google Scholar
  5. Dias, G. de Sousa, Os portugueses em Angola. Lisbon, 1959Google Scholar
  6. Klinghoffer, A. J., The Angolan War. Boulder, 1980Google Scholar
  7. Pelissier, R., Les guerres grises. Montamets, 1980—La Colonie du Minotaure. Montamets, 1980.—Le naufrage des coravelles. Montamets, 1980Google Scholar
  8. Wheeler, D. L., and Pélissier, R., Angola. London, 1971Google Scholar
  9. Zirka, A. K., Angola Libre? Paris, 1975Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1982

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations