Upper Volta

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. A separate colony of Upper Volta was in 1919 carved out of the colony of Upper Senegal and Niger, which had been established in 1904. It was suppressed in 1932 and its territory divided between Ivory Coast, Sudan and Niger. On 4 Sept. 1947 the Territory of Upper Volta was re-established, comprising the area of the old colony of Upper Volta as at 5 Sept. 1932. The Republic of Upper Volta became independent on 5 Aug. 1960 and was admitted to the UN in 1960. On 3 Jan. 1966 the government of Maurice Yameogo was overthrown by a military coup led by Leut.-Col. Sangoulé Lamizana, who assumed the Presidency. Constitutional rule was resumed on 21 June 1970 but suspended from 8 Feb. 1974 until May 1978 and again from Nov. 1980.

République de Haute-Volta


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1981

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations