The People’s Republic of Mozambique
  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. Mozambique was discovered by Vasco da Gama’s fleet on 1 March 1498, and was first colonized in 1505. The frontier with British Central and South Africa was fixed between Great Britain and Portugal in June 1891. The border with Tanzania, according to agreements of 1886 and 1890, runs from Cape Delgado at 10° 40’ S. lat. till it meets the courses of the Rovuma, which it follows to the point of its confluence with the ’Msinje, the boundary thence to Lake Nyasa being the parallel of latitude of this point. The Treaty of Versailles, 1919, allotted to Portugal the original Portuguese territory south of the Rovuma, known as the ‘Kionga Triangle’ (formerly part of German East Africa).


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Boletim da Republica (Government Gazette). Maputo, 1975Google Scholar
  2. Boletim Mensal de Estatistka. Maputo, 1976Google Scholar
  3. Central Committee Report to the Third Congress of FRELIMO. London, 1978Google Scholar
  4. Houser, G., and Shore, H., Mozambique: Dream the Size of Freedom. New York, 1975Google Scholar
  5. Isaacman, A., A Luta Continua: Building a New Society in Mozambique. New York, 1978Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1980

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations