• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of the Congo became independent on 15 Aug. 1960, after having been one of the 4 territories of French Equatorial Africa (under the name of Middle Congo) and from 28 Nov. 1958 a member state of the French Community. In Jan. 1959 it formed an ‘economic, technical and customs union’ with the other 3 territories of the former government-general of French Equatorial Africa.

République Populaire du Congo

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1979

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations