• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Tuvalu (formerly the Ellice Islands) lie between 5° 30′ and 11° S. lat. and 176° and 180° E. long, and comprise Nanumea, Nanumanga, Niutao, Nui, Vaitupu, Nukufetau, Funafuti (administrative centre), Nukulaelae and Nurakita. Population (Dec. 1973) 5,887. Area approximately 9½ sq. miles (24 sq. km). The population is of a Polynesian race.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1979

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations