• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Malawi formerly Nyasaland (until 1907 British Central Africa) Protectorate, constituted on 15 May 1891, lies along the southern and western shores of Lake Malawi (the third largest lake in Afirica).


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Clutton-Brock, G., Dawn in Nyasaland. London, 1964Google Scholar
  2. Debenham, F., Nyasaland. HMSO, 1964Google Scholar
  3. Gelfand, M., Lakeside Pioneers. Socio-medical Study of Nyasaland, 1875–1920, Oxford, 1964Google Scholar
  4. Jones, G., Britain and Nyasaland. London, 1964Google Scholar
  5. McMaster, C, Malawi: Foreign Policy and Development. London, 1974Google Scholar
  6. Pike, J. G., Malawi, A Political History, London, 1967Google Scholar
  7. Pike and Rimmington, Malawi, a Geographical Study. Oxford, 1965Google Scholar
  8. Read, F. E., Malawi, Land of Promise. Govt. Dept. oi Information, 1967. —Malawi, Land of Progress. Govt. Dept. of Information, 1969Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1977

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations