Cayman Islands

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Cayman Islands consist of Grand Cayman, Little Cayman and Cayman Brac. Situated in the Caribbean Sea, about 200 miles NW of Jamaica, the islands were discovered by Columbus on 10 May 1503. Area, 100 sq. miles (260 sq. km). Census population of 1970, 10,249. Grand Cayman (population 8,932), 22 miles long, 4–8 miles broad; capital: George Town (population 3,975). Little Cayman, 10 miles long, 1 mile broad. Cayman Brac, 12 miles long and 1¼ miles wide. Total population of the lesser islands, 1,317. Vital statistics (1976): Births, 282; marriages, 76; deaths, 81. Principal occupations are seafaring, commerce, banking and the tourist industry.

Book of Reference

  1. Biennial Report, 1975. HMSO, 1976Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1977

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations