• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. At the peace of Breda (1667) between Great Britain and the United Netherlands, Surinam was assigned to the Netherlands in exchange for the colony of New Netherland in North America, and this was confirmed by the treaty of Westminster of Feb. 1674. Since then Surinam has been twice in British possession, 1799–1802 (when it was restored to the Batavian Republic at the peace of Amiens) and 1804–16, when it was returned to the Kingdom of the Netherlands according to the convention of London of 13 Aug. 1814, confirmed at the peace of Paris of 20 Nov. 1815. On 25 Nov. 1975, Surinam gained full independence and was admitted to the UN on 4 Dec. 1975.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Economische Voorlichting Suriname. Ministry of Economic Affairs, ParamariboGoogle Scholar
  2. Annual Report of the Central Bank of Surinam Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1976

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations