• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Land area (excluding inland water of Lakes Palombe, Chilwa and Chiuta) 36,324 sq. miles, divided into 3 regions and 24 districts, each administered by a District Commissioner.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Clutton-Brock, G., Dawn in Nyasaland. London, 1964Google Scholar
  2. Debenham, F., Nyasaland. HMSO, 1964Google Scholar
  3. Gelfand, M., Lakeside Pioneers. Socio-medical Study of Nyasaland, 1875–1920. Oxford, 1964Google Scholar
  4. Jones, G., Britain and Nyasaland. London, 1964Google Scholar
  5. Pike, J. G., Malawi, A Political History. London, 1967Google Scholar
  6. Pike and Rimmincton, Malawi, a Geographical Study. Oxford, 1965Google Scholar
  7. Read, F. E., Malawi, Land of Promise. Govt. Dept. of Information, 1967,—Malawi, Land of Progress. Govt. Dept. of Information, 1969Google Scholar
  8. Wishlade, R. L., Sectarianism in S. Nyasalard. Oxford, 1965Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1975

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations