Cayman Islands

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


Cayman Islands consist of Grand Cayman, Little Cayman and Cayman Brac. Situated in the Caribbean Sea, about 200 miles NW of Jamaica, the islands were discovered by Columbus on 10 May 1503. Area, 100 sq. miles (260 sq. km). Census population of 1970, 10,249. Grand Cayman (population 8,932), 22 miles long, 4–8 miles broad; capital: George Town (population 3,975). Little Cayman, 10 miles long, 1 mile broad. Cayman Brac, 12 miles long and 11/4 miles wide. Total population of the lesser islands, 1,317. Vital statistics (1972): Births, 351; marriages, 90; deaths, 68. Principal occupations are seafaring, commerce, banking and the tourist industry. There are 9 government primary schools with 1,138 pupils, a government comprehensive school with 973 pupils, 5 private elementary and 2 private secondary schools. There is also a secretarial college and a private institution for further education.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1975

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations