• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic, divided into 8 administrative areas, consists of the 12 districts of Assaba, Brakna, Gorgol, Guidimaka, Adrar, Western and Eastern Hodh, Inchiri, Lévrier Bay, Trarza, Tiris-Zemmour and Tagant, with a total area of 1,030,700 sq. km.

République Islamique de Mauritanie

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1973

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations