• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic has a total area of 197,722 sq. km; the population in 1971 was about 3·8m. The capital is Dakar (population, 581,000). Kaolack (96,238), Thiès (90,456), Saint-Louis (81,204), Rufisque (48,101), Ziguinchor (45,772) and Diourbel (40,230) are other important towns.

République du Sénégal

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1973

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations