The Commonwealth of the Bahamas

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Commonwealth of the Bahamas consists of more than 30 inhabited and many uninhabited cays and rocks off the S.E. coast of Florida. They are the surface protuberances of two oceanic banks, the Little Bahama Bank and the Great Bahama Bank. Of the groups, about 700 areas might be classified as islands : the rest only as rocks. Land area, 5,386–25 sq. miles (13,590 sq. km). The total rainfall (New Providence) in 1969 was 54–52 in. ; highest in June (20–35 in.). Average winter temperature, 69–9° F. (21–1° C); average summer temperature, 82–8° F. (28–2° C).


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Annual Report, 1968–69. HMSO, 1969Google Scholar
  2. Commonwealth of the Bahamas, Statistical Abstract, 1970–71. Nassau, 1972Google Scholar
  3. Craton, M. A., A History of the Bahamas. London, 1962Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1973

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations