• John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


AREA AND POPULATION. Area, 1,187,000 sq. km. The territory is divided into 7 départements with 33 arrondissements. Population (1968), 3•64m. Niamey is the capital (70,000 inhabitants). The population is composed chiefly of Hausa (1m.), Jerma and Sanghai (450,000) Peulh (300,000) and Tuareg (300,000). Precipitation determines the geographical division into a southern zone of agriculture, a central zone of pasturage and a desert-like northern zone. The country lacks water, with the exception of the western districts, which are watered by the Niger and its tributaries, and the southern zone, where there are a number of wells.

République du Niger


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. Bouardi, P., La République du Niger. Paris, 1960Google Scholar
  2. Séré de Rivières, E., Histoire du Niger. Paris, 1965Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1972

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations