Upper Volta

  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic covers an area of 274,122 sq. km; population (1969) 5.33m., including 3,500 Europeans or assimilated. Ouagadougou, the capital (110,000 inhabitants, of whom 1,000 Europeans) and Bobo-Dioulasso (69,356 inhabitants, of whom 1,500 Europeans), are communes de plein exercice. The principal autochthonous tribe are the Mossi (about 2.5m.).

République de Haute-Volta

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1971

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations