República Oriental del Uruguay
  • John Paxton
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Uruguay, formerly a part of the Spanish Vice-royalty of Río de la Plata and subsequently a province of Brazil, declared its independence 25 Aug. 1825 which was recognized by the treaty between Argentina and Brazil signed at Rio de Janeiro 27 Aug. 1828. The first constitution was adopted 18 July 1830.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. The official gazette is the Diario Oficial Google Scholar
  2. Statistical Reports of the Government. Montevideo. Annual and biennialGoogle Scholar
  3. Anales de Instruction Primaria. Montevideo. QuarterlyGoogle Scholar
  4. Alisky, M., Uruguay: a contemporary survey. New York, 1969Google Scholar
  5. Arcas, J. A., Historia del siglo XX uruguayo, 1897–1943. Montevideo, 1950Google Scholar
  6. Brannon, R. H., The Agricultural Development of Uruguay. New York, 1968Google Scholar
  7. De Carlos, M., La escuela púplica uruguaya. Montevideo, 1949Google Scholar
  8. Fernández Saldana José M., Diccionario Uruguayo de Biografías. Montevideo, 1945Google Scholar
  9. Fitzgibbon, R. H., Uruguay, portrait of a democracy. New Brunswick, NJ, 1954; London, 1956Google Scholar
  10. Montañés, M. T., Desarrollo de la agricultura en el Uruguay. Montevideo, 1948Google Scholar
  11. Pendle, G., Uruguay. 3rd ed. R. Inst. of Int. Affairs, 1963Google Scholar
  12. Salgado, José, Historia de la Republica O. del Uruguay. 8 vols. Montevideo, 1943Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1971

Authors and Affiliations

  • John Paxton

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations