• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Uruguay, formerly a part of the Spanish Viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata, and subsequently a province of Brazil, declared its independence 25 Aug. 1825, which was recognized by the treaty between Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay, signed at Rio de Janeiro 27 Aug. 1828. The first constitution was adopted 18 July 1830.

República Oriental del Uruguay


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. The official gazette is the Diario Oficial.Google Scholar
  2. Statistical Reports of the Government. Montevideo. Annual and biennialGoogle Scholar
  3. Anales de Instructión Primaria. Montevideo. QuarterlyGoogle Scholar
  4. Acedevo, Eduardo, Anales Históricos del Uruguay. Montevideo, 1933Google Scholar
  5. Araújo, O., Diccionario Geográfico del Uruguay. 2nd edition. Montevideo, 1912Google Scholar
  6. Areas, J. A., Historia del siglo XX uruguayo, 1897–1943. Montevideo, 1950Google Scholar
  7. De Carlos, M., La escuela pública uruguaya. Montevideo, 1949Google Scholar
  8. Fernández Saldaña, José M., Diccionario Uruguayo de Biografías. Montevideo, 19–15Google Scholar
  9. Fitzgibboa, R. H., Uruguay, portrait of a democracy. New Brunswick, N.J., 1954; London, 1956Google Scholar
  10. Heatheote-Smith, O. B. B., Economic and Commercial Conditions in Uruguay. H.M.S.O., 1954Google Scholar
  11. Montañés, M. T., Desarrollo de la agricultura en el Uruguay. Montevideo, 1948Google Scholar
  12. Pendle, G., Uruguay. London, 1952Google Scholar
  13. Salgado, José, Historia de la Eepublica O. del Uruguay. 8 vols. Montevideo, 1943Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1958

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations