Persian Gulf States

  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Persian Gulf States include the British protected states of Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar and the Trucial States, All are in special treaty relations with Great Britain dating mainly from the 19th century, by which H.M. Government is responsible for the conduct of their foreign relations. This responsibility is exercised through H.M. Political Resident in the Persian Gulf, who has his headquarters in Bahrain and, subordinate to him, Political Agents in Kuwait, Bahrain, Doha (Qatar) and Dubai (Trucial States).


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1958

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations