• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The new constitution of Nicaragua of 1 Nov. 1950 vesta the legislative power in a Congress of 2 Houses consisting of 42 deputies elected for 6 years, and 16 senators (plus ex-presidents of the republic, who are appointed for life) elected for 6 years, all by popular state-wide vote. The President is, nominally, elected for 6 years. Voters are males over 18 years of age who can read and write and all other males over 21. The constitution grants citizenship to women over 18 years of age who can read and write, but leaves the granting of the franchise to the decision of the legislature. Nicaragua uses the Australian ballot (i.e., not ballots printed by the political parties).

República de Nicaragua


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Statistical Information. Bach of the statistical offices set up in 1835. 1861 and 1905 functioned only for a few years. The present Dirección General de Estadistiea y Censos (Managua, D.N.) was set up in 1931 as part of the Ministerio de Economia. Director General: Dr Adolfo Loia Blen. It publishes the Anuario Estadístico and various bulletins; see A. Lola Blen, Actividades Eatadisticas en Nicaragua (1954).Google Scholar
  2. Report of the Collector-General of Customs and High Commission. Managua. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  3. Palmer, Mervyn G., Through Unknown Nicaragua. London, 1915Google Scholar
  4. Portas, S. J. Bernado, Compendia de la historia de Nicaragua. Managua, 1918Google Scholar
  5. Tweedy, M., This is Nicaragua. Ipswich, 1953.Google Scholar
  6. National Libraky. Biblioteca Nacional, Managua, D.N. Director: Dr Ramón Romero.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1958

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations