República del Paraguay
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Paraguay gained its independence from Spain on 14 May 1811. In 1814 Dr José Gaspar Rodriguez Francia was elected dictator, and in 1816 perpetual dictator, by the National Assembly. He died 20 Sept. 1840. In 1844 a new constitution was adopted, under which Carlos Antonio Lopez (first elected in 1842) and his son, Francisco Solano López, ruled until 1870. During a devastating war against Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay (1865–70) Paraguay lost probably 500,000 men. Argentina, in Aug. 1942, and Brazil, in May 1943, voided the reparations debt imposed upon Paraguay, which Paraguay had never paid.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Anuario Doumas. AsunciónGoogle Scholar
  2. Anuario Estadístico de la Republica del Paraguay. Asunción. AnnuaGoogle Scholar
  3. Report of the Council of the Corporation of Foreign Bondholders. Annual. LondonGoogle Scholar
  4. Monetary and Banking Reform in Paraguay. Washington, Federal Reserve System, 1946Google Scholar
  5. Henderson, I. L., Economic and Commercial Conditions in Paraguay. H.M.S.O., 1952Google Scholar
  6. Pendle, J., Paraguay, a riverside nation. R. Inst. Int. Affairs, 1954Google Scholar
  7. Vellard, J., Une Civilisation du Miel: Les Indiens Guayakis du Paraguay. Paris, 1939Google Scholar
  8. Warren, H. G., Paraguay, an informal history. Norman, Okla., 1949Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1957

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations