• S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


República del Paraguay Histor. The Republic of Paraguay gained its independence from Spain on 14 May 1811. In 1814 Dr José Gaspar Rodriguez Francia was elected dictator, and in 1816 perpetual dictator (el Supremo), by the National Assembly. He died 20 Sept. 1840. In 1844 a new constitution was adopted, under which Carlos Antonio Lopez (first elected in 1842, died 10 Sept. 1862) and his son, Francisco Solano López, ruled until 1870. During the devastating war against Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay (1865-70) Paraguay lost probably 500,000 men. Argentina, in Aug. 1942, and Brazil, in May 1943, voided the reparations debt imposed upon Paraguay, which Paraguay had never paid.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. Gaceta Oficia. published by Imprenta Nacional, Estrella y Estero Bellaco, AsunciónGoogle Scholar
  2. Anuario Doumas.AsunciónGoogle Scholar
  3. Anuario Estadistico de la República del Paraguay.Asunción. AnnualGoogle Scholar
  4. Report of the Council of the Corporation of Foreign Bondholders.Annual. LondonGoogle Scholar
  5. Pendle, J., Paraguay, a riverside natio. It. Inst, of Int. Affaire, 2nd ed., 1956Google Scholar
  6. Raine, P., Paragua. New Brunswick, NJ, 1956Google Scholar
  7. NATIONAL LIBRARY. Biblioteca Nacional, Sarmiento, Asunción.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1955

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Rofal Historical SocietyUK

Personalised recommendations