República Oriental del Uruguay
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


HISTORY. The Republic of Uruguay, formerly a part of the Spanish Viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata and subsequently a province of Brazil, declared its independence 25 Aug. 1825 which was recognized by the treaty between Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay signed at Rio de Janeiro 27 Aug. 1828. The first constitution was adopted 18 July 1830.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. The official gazette is the Diario Oficial Google Scholar
  2. Statistical Reports of the Government. Montevideo, Annual and biennialGoogle Scholar
  3. Anales de Instruction Primaria. Montevideo. QuarterlyGoogle Scholar
  4. Areas, J. A., Historia del siglo XX uruguayo, 1897–1943. Montevideo, 1950Google Scholar
  5. De Carlos, M., La escuela publica uruguaya. Montevideo, 1949Google Scholar
  6. Fernandez Saldana José M., Dicciofiario Uruguayo de Bioyrafias. Montevideo, 1945Google Scholar
  7. Fitzgibbon, R. H., Uruguay, portrait of a democracy. New Brunswick, NJ, 1954; London 1956Google Scholar
  8. Montanes, M. T., Desarrollo de la agricultum en el Uruguay. Montevideo, 1948Google Scholar
  9. Pendle, G., Uruguay. 3rd ed. R. Inst, of Int. Affairs. 1963Google Scholar
  10. Salgado, José, Historia de la Reputica O. del Uruguay. 8 vols. Montevideo, 1943Google Scholar
  11. National Library. BibliotecaNacional del Uruguay, Guayabo 1793, Montevideo. Director: Dionisio Trillo Pays. It publishes Anuario Bibliogrûfico Uruguayo. Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1955

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg
    • 1
  1. 1.The Rofal Historical SocietyUK

Personalised recommendations