República Oriental del Uruguay
  • S. H. Steinberg
Part of the The Statesman’s Yearbook book series (SYBK)


The Republic of Uruguay, formerly a part of the Spanish Viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata, and subsequently a province of Brazil, declared its independence 25 Aug., 1825, which was recognized by the treaty between Argentina, Brazil and Uruguay, signed at Rio de Janeiro 27 Aug., 1828. The first constitution was adopted 18 July, 1880.


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Books of Reference

  1. The official gazette is the Diario Oficial.Google Scholar
  2. Statistical Reports of the Government. Montevideo. Annual and biennial.Google Scholar
  3. Anales de Instruccion Primaria. Montevideo. Quarterly.Google Scholar
  4. Uruguay: Review of Commercial Conditions, July, 1947. H.M.S.O., 1948.Google Scholar
  5. Acedevo (Eduardo), Anales Historicos del Uruguay. Montevideo, 1933.Google Scholar
  6. Araújo (O.), Diccionario Geográfico del Uruguay. 2nd edition. Montevideo, 1912.Google Scholar
  7. Arras (J. A.), Historia del siglo XX uruguayo, 1897–1943. Montevideo, 1950.Google Scholar
  8. De Carlos (M.), La escuela publica uruguaya. Montevideo, 1949.Google Scholar
  9. Hanson (S. G.), Utopia in Uruguay. Oxford, 1938.Google Scholar
  10. Harris (C. G.), Uruguay: Economic Survey. H.M.S.O., 1951.Google Scholar
  11. Martinez Lamas (J.), Riqueza y Pobreza del Uruguay. Montevideo, 1930.Google Scholar
  12. Montañes (M. T.), Desarrollo de la agricultura en el Uruguay. Montevideo, 1948.Google Scholar
  13. Salgodo (José), Historia de la Republica O. del Uruguay. 8 vols. Montevideo, 1943.Google Scholar
  14. Vivar (Oscar Diazde), La Constitucion Uruguaya de 1934. Buenos Aires, 1935.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1951

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. H. Steinberg

There are no affiliations available

Personalised recommendations